tag: AEJMC Political Communication Interest Group: AEJMC Political Communication Group 2013 Call for Papers

Tuesday, January 29, 2013

AEJMC Political Communication Group 2013 Call for Papers

The Political Communication Interest Group invites submission of original, non-published research papers to be considered forpresentation at the AEJMC conference, August 8 to 11, 2013, in Washington, DC. The deadline for paper submissions is April 1, 2013, at 11:59 p.m.

We welcome both faculty and graduate student papers of all methodological approaches and levels of analysis. Research papers should be directly related to mediated political communication, broadly defined. Possible relevant topics include processes and effects of mediated political communication in relation to political news, political journalism, public policy, political figures and candidates, citizen engagement and mobilization, public opinion, campaigns and political advertising, advocacy, and political economy of the media. We especially welcome papers related to the 2012 election campaign. All submitted research papers should be clearly grounded in theory and methodology.

The Political Communication Interest Group has established the McCombs Shaw Award for Best Student Paper in Political Communication with a $100 prize to be given annually to the best graduate student paper submission. In addition, the interest group annually honors the top three papers in Political Communication; both faculty and graduate student paper submissions are eligible for this honor.

All entries should follow the guidelines of the AEJMC uniform paper competition. Paper length is limited to 25-pages, not including references, tables, figures or appendices. All submissions will undergo a blind review process by a panel of independent reviewers. Papers are accepted on the understanding that they have not been previously published or presented elsewhere. Paper authors must remove identifying information from paper. Failure to do so will lead to an automatic disqualification.

Click here to submit your paper 
If you have any questions, please contact research co-chairs Lauren Feldman (feldman@american.edu) or Emily Vraga (evraga@gmu.edu). 

1 comment: